Celebrating Excellence in High School Musical Theatre

Fashioned after Broadway's Tony Awards, the Georgia High School Musical Theatre Awards (GHSMTA) program celebrates excellence in high school musical theatre. The Awards are named in honor of actor/singer and Georgia native, Shuler Hensley, winner of the prestigious Tony Award, Outer Critics Circle Award and Drama Desk Award. The year-round program embodies a spirit of camaraderie and celebration for the arts in high schools across Georgia. From volunteer training and high school theatre adjudication, to the Student Ensemble, S.T.A.R. Council, scholarship program to the weeklong training with industry professionals and much more, nearly 5,000 students participate annually in the life-changing program. ArtsBridge has several alumni who have gone on to Broadway and other professional arts opportunities, and numerous others who have simply discovered gifts and talents! Our program is part of the National High School Musical Theatre Awards - The Jimmy Awards® program of the Broadway League of New York City, NY and is proud to announce it has had two national winners! Atlanta's Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre provides a beautiful, state-of-the-art home for the GHSMTA. The televised show has received 12 nominations and has won the 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2023, and 2024 Southeast Emmy® Awards!

The Georgia High School Musical Theatre Awards are made possible thanks to our partners at Fox Theatre Atlanta and Broadway Across America and the generous support of sponsors.


Congratulations to all who played a role in the success of the 2023 GHSMTA production!


Missed this year's Sweet 16 celebration of the
Georgia High School Musical Theatre Awards?
Watch the 2024 show below!

Follow our social media to receive the latest updates!

Newsletter Signup